The Mason Jar Savings Method: The Money Jar for Adults

Page 1 of 1

shotcaller

Administrator
I’ll say it straight-up: saving sucks. Especially for anyone in college. I mean, as college kids, our earning prospects weren’t exactly very good. But there’s still that huge pressure to make and save money. And that’s just as difficult – probably even more so – than that scary book report you’ve been putting off for weeks.

Most of the posts I made about college will talk about various earning methods for college students. But for this post, I’ll be talking (er, writing) about this awesome savings method I’ve discovered when I was a student: the Mason Jar Savings Method.

The Mason Jar Savings Method is a nifty technique to make saving easier and less painful. But most of all, it works! Since it’s so easy to start (but a little challenging down the line), I think all college students should give it a try. In this post, I’ll be spilling all the details on the Mason Jar Savings Method.

Wanna give this a try? Read on!

mason jars.jpg

What is the Mason Jar Savings Method?

The Mason Jar Savings method is just that — you put money into a container, the most popular option being a mason jar… because hipsters, I guess. But the Mason Jar Savings method is totally legit. Feel free to replace the mason jar with whichever container you want.

The unique thing about the Mason Jar method is that it’s cumulative. You start with a small amount, then gradually work your way up to the target amount. You could even start with the final amount and gradually move down as the weeks progress. The Mason Jar Savings Method is designed to make saving money not feel like saving money!

Any mature person would be familiar with the usual ways to save money. The most common go-to saving method is bank accounts, which come in a wide range of varieties (my personal favorite being time deposit accounts).