• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

My Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse Review

Page 1 of 1

Amos

I’m a bit late to the party, but I recently watched Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, and dear jeeeebsus it is one of the best movies I’ve seen recently! And it’s not like I’m not familiar with comic book movies. I’m a huge fan of Marvel (the actual comics, not just the movies) and I’ve been meaning to watch this movie for the longest time. But you know, adulting has a way of getting in the way of things like watching a movie.

But anyway, this movie definitely lives up to the hype. It’s fun, action packed, and the visuals are just stunning. For the lack of a better way to describe this movie (I’m not really good at artsy terminologies), it looks and feels very modern. And it’s not just modern, it also manages to reference old cartoons and comics - old geezers here will recognize the influence of the old Adam West Batman show (lots of “Pow!” talking balloons). But it does it in a way that’s totally fresh. The story itself also has lots of heart, and I found myself rooting for minor spider-characters like Spider-Man Noir and Penny Parker and her awesome Spider-Mecha.

This is an excellent movie, and if you’re like me and kind of behind on recent movies, you should watch this asap!

rocketman